Adaptive Transient Fault Model for Sensor Attack Detection

This research considers the problem of sensor attack detection for multiple operating mode systems, building upon an existing attack detection method that uses a transient fault model with fixed parameters. For a multiple operating mode system, the existing method would have to use the most conservative model parameters to preserve the soundness in attack detection, thus not being effective in attack detection for some operating modes. To address this problem, we propose an adaptive transient fault model to use the appropriate parameter values in accordance with the change of the operating mode of the system. The benefit of our proposed system is demonstrated using real measurement data obtained from an unmanned ground vehicle.

1

People:

  • Minsu Jo (Minsu-Jo@dgist.ac.kr)
  • Junkil Park (park11@seas.upenn.edu)
  • Youngmi Baek (ymbaek@dgist.ac.kr )
  • Radoslav Ivanov (rivanov@seas.upenn.edu)
  • James Weimer (weimerj@seas.upenn.edu)
  • Sang Hyuk Son (son@dgist.ac.kr)
  • Insup Lee (lee@seas.upenn.edu)

Reference:

M. Jo, et al, “Adaptive Transient Fault Model for Sensor Attack Detection”, in IEEE International Conference on Cyber Physical Systems, Networks, and Applications (CPSNA), Japan, Oct. 2016